Montgomery County Assault Lawyer

Being charged with assault could be stressful and overwhelming for a person unfamiliar with how to navigate Montgomery County’s complex legal system. You may not have to fight assault charges on your own.

Hiring a Montgomery County assault lawyer means you could have someone on your side representing you and fighting on your behalf for the best possible legal result. A capable criminal defense attorney may be able to help you navigate the legal system, answer your questions, and represent you during all legal proceedings.

How an Attorney Could Help

There are several ways in which an assault lawyer in Montgomery County could assist a person facing assault charges. Some specific ways in which an attorney may be able to help could include:

  • Explaining the specific charges against a person
  • Answering legal questions about the case
  • Explaining the potential penalties for a conviction
  • Navigating the legal system
  • Providing legal representation
  • Preparing a defense strategy
  • Fighting for an optimal outcome

Assault Laws that May Affect a Defendant’s Case

In Montgomery County, and throughout the state of Maryland, assault is a criminal offense that involves physically attacking another person or threatening to attack a person. Montgomery County assault laws are outlined in Title 3, Other Crimes Against the Person, of Maryland’s criminal Law Code (see Subtitle 2, which covers assault and related offenses). Under Maryland law, a person could be charged with assault in either the first or second degree, both of which are felony offenses.

Maryland law states that intentionally causing serious physical harm to another person, attempting to cause such harm, or threatening to cause serious physical harm to a person are all forms of assault. Such acts, attempts, or threats are still considered assault even if no weapon is used. A Montgomery County assault lawyer may be able to provide additional insight regarding specific acts that constitute assault under the law.

Legal Penalties an Accused Person May Face

The legal penalty for an assault charge conviction in Montgomery County may vary depending on whether the charges were for assault in the first or second degree. Both are classified as felony offenses under Maryland law, but first-degree assault is considered to be a more serious degree of assault. The legal penalties for conviction on a first-degree assault charge are more severe than for a second-degree assault charge.

The penalty for a conviction on a second-degree assault charge could include a term of imprisonment of up to ten years and a fine of up to $2,500. If the alleged offense involved causing, attempting to cause, or threatening to cause physical injury or harm to a law enforcement officer, firefighter, emergency medical technician, parole or probation agent, or any first responder in the course of duty, then the penalty for a conviction could be a term of imprisonment of up to ten years and a fine of up to $5,000 (see Maryland criminal law code § 3-203).

First-degree assault is considered to be more serious than assault in the second-degree and includes assault-related offenses committed with a firearm. The penalty for a conviction on a first-degree assault charge may include a term of imprisonment of up to 25 years (see Maryland criminal law code § 3-202).

Contacting a Montgomery County Assault Attorney

Being charged with assault may be overwhelming enough without also trying to navigate the legal system, which might further complicate the process. If you are fighting assault charges on your own, an attorney could help by helping you obtain the best possible legal outcome. Contact a Montgomery County assault lawyer today and know that you are in capable hands.