Montgomery County Traffic Lawyer
A traffic violation in Montgomery County, Maryland can range from a nuisance to a serious threat to your privilege to drive. Call a Montgomery County traffic lawyer today if you’re facing charges and want to learn about your legal options. The Maryland traffic attorneys at our MD law firm have experience handling traffic-related cases of all sorts in Montgomery county and throughout the state.
If you have previous traffic convictions, and Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) points associated with them, keeping your driver’s license might be what you’re worrying about the most if you’re saddled with another violation. And some of our state’s traffic offenses have been changed, as well as the manner in which they are adjudicated. Any (or all) of these situations are reason enough to call on a seasoned Montgomery County traffic lawyer to help you with your predicament.
Serious Traffic Violations in Montgomery County, MD
Potential traffic infractions in the state of Maryland are many and diverse, but with the help of a Montgomery County traffic attorney, you may be able to put forth a solid defense and mitigate the damage associated with a traffic charge or conviction. Apart from DUI, some of the more serious Montgomery County traffic charges include the following:
Speeding [Section 21–801]
We all must drive at a “reasonable and prudent” speed based on road conditions, depending on weather and traffic. And on some roads (like freeways), you can be ticketed for driving too slowly. Depending on how much you exceeded the posted speed limit, whether your speed caused an accident, and how many previous speeding violations you have received, the penalty can be as little as $80 and one point, or as much as $500 and five points. And if you speed in a work or school zone, you might pay a doubled fine.
Driving Without a License [Section 16–101]
All drivers in Maryland must be licensed. If you’re convicted of driving with a revoked or suspended license, you could spend up to two months in jail, pay a $500 fine, and incur five points, and your current license suspension or revocation will be lengthened. If you don’t have a license at all (or are violating terms of your learner’s permit), the same penalties might apply. But the real “attention grabber” is that your progression to having a full license will be stalled for quite a few months.
Fleeing and Eluding [Section 21-904]
If an officer on foot or in a police cruiser tells you to stop your vehicle and pull over, you must. You can’t hit the gas and flee, or exit your vehicle and do it on foot. Both acts are charged as fleeing or eluding the police.
Reckless Driving [Section 21–901]
By statute, this offense is viewed as operating a motor vehicle with “wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Conviction carries a statutory fine of $500 and six points for a first offense. Higher penalties await repeat offenders. But sometimes, it can be plea-bargained down by a good Montgomery County traffic lawyer to negligent driving. This carries a $140 fine. It is more common for first-time reckless drivers who have a good driving record.
Aggressive Driving [Section 21–901.2]
This is a combination of three or more driving offenses charged simultaneously, such as overtaking and passing a vehicle, then passing a vehicle on the right-hand side and then tailgating the vehicle in front of the one you passed. These tickets combine the fines for however many offenses you are charged with into one grand total that produces at least five points (depending on the offenses and the points associated with each one).
Driving Without Insurance [Section 17-107]
All who drive in Maryland must have state-approved minimum liability and property damage coverage, and prove they have a valid policy. Failure to provide such documentation when law enforcement stops them can result in a jail sentence of up to a year and a fine of up to $1,000, along with five MVA points.
New Traffic Ticket Rules
The Legislature also recently changed the way the courts handle all traffic violations. Now, all ticketed offenders must request a trial (or waiver hearing if applicable) [Section 26–201]. Failing to do so within 30 days of being ticketed means an automatic guilty verdict. Then the violator receives a bill in the mail. Previously a court date was automatically assigned to every citation and written on the ticket.
Having a Montgomery County traffic lawyer in your corner helps you sort all this out, especially if you wish to plead not-guilty, as there are some specific procedures that must met regarding those pleas if your explanation is to be accepted at trial.