Rockville Domestic Violence Lawyer
Being charged with domestic violence and facing a potential conviction may be overwhelming. A conviction may adversely affect employment and other professional opportunities, and child custody if children are involved. While fighting domestic violence charges alone and navigate the complicated legal system might be difficult, a compassionate Rockville domestic violence lawyer could offer assistance. A knowledgeable criminal defense attorney may be able to fight to achieve the best legal resolution possible on your behalf.
Domestic Violence Laws
Domestic violence laws in Montgomery County are detailed in the state of Maryland’s family law code under subtitle 5 (domestic violence) of title 4 (spouses).
Maryland law defines domestic violence as a form of abuse. Any type of abuse committed against a cohabitant, which includes spouses and significant others, might be considered domestic violence under the law. The following abusive acts are defined as forms of domestic violence (see § 4-501) and may result in criminal charges:
- Any type of assault
- Causing serious bodily harm
- Invoking fear of imminent bodily injury
- Sexual assault or rape (or threatening to)
- False imprisonment
- Abuse of a vulnerable adult (e.g., elderly or disabled)
Maryland domestic violence laws provide for alleged victims to obtain protective orders against an individual charged with domestic violence. Even if no physical assault occurred, protective orders could still be available to those who are in fear of imminent physical harm.
Violating a protective order may result in additional criminal charges against a person. Unlike a speed ticket, which may not have as severe of an impact on an individual, a domestic violence charge could follow a convicted person for the rest of their life. A lawyer for domestic violence in Rockville could explain domestic violence laws in greater detail, including the possible legal penalties for convictions of domestic violence charges.
Legal Penalties a Convicted Person May Face
The sanctions for domestic violence convictions in Rockville vary depending on the specific charges. Violating a protective order may result in a fine of up to $1,000 and a term of imprisonment of up to 90 days. Subsequent violations of a protective order may result in a term of imprisonment of up to one year and a fine of up to $2,500 (see § 4-509).
Legal penalties for convictions of domestic violence could depend on the type of assault specified in the charges and whether the offense was categorized as first or second-degree assault. First-degree assault charges are considered more serious. The penalty could be a term of imprisonment of up to 25 years (see § 3-202). The penalty for a second-degree assault conviction may be a term of imprisonment of up to 10 years and a possible fine (see § 3-203).
The Role of a Criminal Attorney
There could be several reasons for calling a domestic violence lawyer in Rockville. An attorney could answer questions pertaining to the specific charges being faced and explain the legal penalties for a possible conviction.
A domestic violence lawyer in Rockville could also provide legal representation throughout the entire legal process and may prepare a defense strategy to help you fight for the best possible legal outcome.
Call a Rockville Domestic Violence Attorney
Attempting to fight domestic violence charges and navigating through each step of the legal process alone could be a daunting task. Having someone on your side to advocate for you who understands the legal system may alleviate the stress of the situation.
An attorney could advocate for you and fight to help you obtain an optimal legal outcome. Call a Rockville domestic violence lawyer today.