Calvert County MVA Hearing Attorney
If you are cited for driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI) in the state of Maryland, you have a very narrow period of time in which you may act to protect your ability to drive. From the day that you are actually arrested for drunk driving, you have a period of 30 days to a request a hearing with the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) and you have a period of only 10 days to request the hearing to receive a guarantee of the extension of your temporary driving privilege. If you do not request the hearing in this time period, you will face the automatic suspension of your license for a period of 46 days after your arrest. It is important to contact a Calvert County MVA hearing lawyer if you are charged with a DUI in Calvert County.
MVA License Suspension
When you hire the services of a qualified attorney, they will be able to defend you and your situation at the trial in traffic court, as well as during our MVA hearing in Calvert County, Maryland. The Calvert County MVA Hearing lawyer you retain will be able to fully understand the challenges that you are facing and he will do whatever is necessary to preserve your driving privileges, which can drastically affect your ability to earn a living and care for yourself and your family.
An experienced Calvert County MVA hearing lawyer will know exactly when and where to file the necessary court documents and will be well-qualified to negotiate with prosecutors on your behalf, as well as explain in detail your charges and any potential penalties you may face.
MVA hearings can be just as complex as a traditional DUI court case and, as such, will require legal representation. The attorney that you hire should understand the laws regarding driver’s license suspension and what the Administrative Law Judges (ADLs) will need to see in order to reduce or completely dismiss the period of license suspension that you are facing.
Maryland MVA Cases
While you may choose to not request a hearing with the MVA, it may be in your best interests to do so due to the following:
- If your DUI arrest was paired with a blood alcohol content (BAC) reading in the range of .08 to .14 percent, you will undoubtedly face suspension of your driver’s license for a period of 45 days;
- If your BAC registered .15 or greater at the time of your arrest, you face a license suspension of up to 90 days;
- If you refuse a breath test, you may face a period of 120 days of license suspension;
- There are some situations where you may actually be eligible for modifications to your license, which includes a restricted license, which will allow you to drive to work, attend medical appointments and any counseling, education, or treatment programs for alcohol or drug abuse.
Ignition Interlock Program
If you do not choose to pursue an MVA hearing, you may still be able to qualify for the Ignition Interlock Program, which would allow you to drive your vehicle after installing an ignition interlock device. However, there are a number of factors that will impact the penalties that you face depending upon the circumstances of your arrest. This is why it is essential that you retain the services of a dedicated Calvert County MVA attorney as soon as possible.
MVA Hearings for CDLs
Your Calvert County MVA Hearing attorney will be able to handle any MVA proceeding, whether it affects a regular driver’s license or a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL). During your initial consultation, which is free, they will gather the necessary information to evaluate your case and help determine the best defense strategy. Though no lawyer can ever guarantee the outcome of a criminal case, having someone who is experienced and has demonstrated success in MVA proceedings will improve your chances for achieving the best possible outcome in your MVA case.
Again, it is important to keep in mind that you only have 10 days after your actual DUI arrest to request an MVA hearing for your license and only 30 days after an MVA ruling is issued to appeal that ruling. When you request an MVA hearing within the 10-day period, you will generally be able to maintain your driving privileges until the hearing takes place.
Work with an Experienced Calvert County MVA Hearing Lawyer
Contact a Calvert County MVA hearing lawyer today to schedule a consultation and find out how he can help you retain your driving privileges and defend your driving record and reputation. Call his Maryland law office today.