Carroll County DUI Lawyer
In Maryland, driving while under the influence accounts for almost a third of all traffic fatalities. For this reason, the Maryland Transportation Code outlines the serious consequences of being found guilty of driving under the influence. If you have been charged with driving under the influence, then a skilled criminal defense attorney can help you understand your legal options, answer any of your questions, and ensure your rights are protected to the fullest extent. An experienced Carroll County DUI lawyer will know the judges, the state’s attorneys, and all of the idiosyncrasies involved in practicing law in Carroll County.
What is Driving Under the Influence in Maryland?
Like all other states, drinking and driving is illegal in Maryland. As a Carroll County DUI lawyer has seen, the state takes a scientific measurement of the amount of alcohol that is in a person’s blood and then set a threshold for when a person is too intoxicated to be on the road. A person is driving under the influence if their Blood Alcohol Content (or BAC) is over 0.08 percent.
A police officer can find out a person’s BAC by through either a breathalyzer or through a blood test. If the driver is under 21 years old then Maryland’s zero tolerance law applies. If a driver is under the age of 21 then he or she cannot have a BAC above 0.02 percent.
Possible Consequences of a Driving Under the Influence
The Maryland Transportation Code outlines the consequences for a DUI in Maryland. If a person is found guilty of a DUI in Maryland then the legal consequences will largely depend on whether they have been convicted of a DUI in the previous five years.
If a person has not been convicted of a DUI in the previous five years, then being found guilty of a DUI could result in a fine of $1,000 and up to one year in jail. Twelve points will be added to the driver’s record and he or she may lose their license for up to six months.
Second and Third Offenses
If a person has already been convicted of one DUI in the last five years, then being found guilty of a DUI could result in a fine of $2,000 and up to two years in jail. For a second offense, twelve more points will be added to the driver’s record and their license could be revoked.
If a person has already been convicted of two DUIs in the last five years, then a person that receives a guilty verdict for a third DUI could be imprisoned for up to three years and receive a fine of up to $3,000. A driver who receives their third DUI in three years will have their license revoked.
Regardless of whether the driver has previously received a DUI, all drivers found guilty of a DUI will be required to install a breathalyzer in their vehicles which will stop the car engine from starting if the driver of the vehicle has any alcohol in their system.
Learn How a Carroll County Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help
To prove that a person was driving under the influence, a Carroll County prosecutor will need to prove that the individual’s ability to operate a motor vehicle was significantly impaired. If a person is charged with driving under the influence per se, then the state must prove that the individual was operating a motor vehicle with a .08 or higher breath alcohol content.
Because the consequences for a DUI or DWI in Maryland are very serious, if you have been charged with driving under the influence in Carroll County, Maryland then you should speak with a Carroll County DUI lawyer who can advise you of your rights and legal options.