Carroll County Domestic Violence Lawyer
Maryland domestic violence laws are charged against men or women allegedly harm a spouse, domestic partner, or child. These laws all require a relationship between the allegedly abused and the alleged perpetrator. Maryland does not have specific domestic violence laws but charged offenses fall under various criminal statutes, which are often handled by special prosecutors. If you are facing charges of abuse in Maryland, you should contact a Carroll County domestic violence lawyer to mitigate on your behalf and build the strongest possible defense. Professional Carroll County attorneys are here to help.
Different Degrees of Domestic Violence Crimes
- First Degree Domestic Violence is charged as a felony and requires serious physical harm. Serious physical harm includes significant physical injury that incapacitates or that causes permanent injury to the other party. If a firearm was used, a charge of First Degree Domestic Violence will be made, regardless of whether or not there was any actual injury to the other party. This charge carries a maximum sentence of 25 years.
- Second Degree Domestic Violence is charged when there is an assault or battery against the other party, but the injury is not serious or life-threatening. This offense can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor. Even a conviction for a misdemeanor carries heavy penalties when the crime occurs in a domestic setting.
- First Degree Child Abuse is charged as a felony. As with First Degree Domestic Violence, this offense requires serious physical harm to a child in a domestic relationship. Prosecutors and judges consider this offense as a serious crime, and the potential penalties are severe. A conviction of this offense can result in up to 25 years imprisonment.
- Second Degree Child Abuse can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor. This offense requires assault or battery against the child, with injuries that are not serious physical harm or life-threatening. Penalties for this offense can be up to 10 years imprisonment.
Other common Domestic Violence criminal charges can include:
- Violation of a Protective Order
- Telephone or Electronic Misuse
Talk to a Carroll County domestic violence lawyer to learn more.
Consequences of a Domestic Violence Conviction
A sentence to jail or prison is just one possible consequence of a domestic violence conviction. Even if a defendant avoids significant custody time, it is almost certain they will:
- Be barred from the domestic residence
- Be ordered to stay away from all involved parties with a restraining order
- Have the offense used as leverage in divorce or custody hearings
- Have a permanent and public record as a domestic violence offender
- Ordered to attend a one-year domestic violence, anger management or batterer class
- Pay court costs and fees as well as class fees
- Attend court-ordered monitoring and court appearances for the term of probation
- Have potential adverse effect on professional licenses
- If convicted of a felony, lose voting rights and firearm ownership
Defenses to a Domestic Violence Charge
Many domestic violence charges are far more complicated than other criminal cases. Some cases of domestic violence are legitimate and unfortunate. In many cases, however, the other party can exaggerate the facts in order to gain an advantage in a divorce case, or to punish the defendant for other reasons. The other party can be equally at fault for the altercation but was the first to call police or present a more believable version of the events.
Contact a Carroll County Domestic Violence Attorney Today
Domestic violence cases can be incredibly stressful. Consult a Carroll County Domestic violence lawyer today in order to build a solid defense and ensure that your needs are being met.