Anne Arundel County Assault Lawyer
If you have been accused of assault in Maryland, you may be feeling overwhelmed by the charges and uncertain about the legal process you are facing. An experienced Anne Arundel county assault lawyer can help by explaining the charges against you and mounting a strong defense on your behalf.
In these situations, it’s important to work with a local Anne Arundel County defense attorney who has experience handling these cases in the court system where your case will be heard.
Assault Charges in Maryland
Assault in Maryland is classified as either first or second-degree assault, depending on a few factors. First-degree assault involves either the use of a firearm, or results in or attempts to cause serious physical injury to the alleged victim. Serious physical injury is defined under Maryland Code § 3-201 as an injury that carries a substantial risk of death, causes disfigurement, disability, or impaired or loss of function of a body part.
Second-degree assault in Maryland encompasses all other forms of assault or assault and battery, meaning those that did not involve a firearm and did not cause or intend to cause serious bodily harm. In other words, any intentional act that results in apprehension of a harmful or offensive contact (or “battery”) could constitute second-degree assault, so long as the victim had not given consent for such contact or apprehension.
Our assault lawyers in Anne Arundel have experience handling cases involving both first and second-degree assault charges. No matter what type of assault you are accused of, our attorneys can help defend your rights.
Penalties for Assault in Maryland
Assault penalties in Maryland can be quite serious, for both first and second-degree assaults. First-degree assault is a felony punishable by up to 25 years in prison. Second-degree assault is a misdemeanor that carries a penalty of up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $2500. There is also a felony version of second-degree assault, however, and this offense carries heightened penalties of up to $5000 in fines and up to 10 years in prison.
Second-degree assault can be considered a felony if it involves an attack or assault against a law enforcement officer, probation officer, parole or corrections agent, or metro transit police officer, and the officer is injured. The injury need not be considered a serious bodily injury, and can include all but the most minor of injuries.
Consult an Experienced Anne Arundel County Assault Lawyer
Regardless of the circumstances that led to assault charges against you, an experienced lawyer can look into the incident and determine whether you acted in justifiable self-defense, or whether another defense for your alleged conduct may apply.
Your Anne Arundel county assault attorney can advise you from the moment you learn of charges against you and can ensure that you do not say or do anything to harm your case when speaking with investigators or interacting with the alleged victim. Call our Maryland law offices today to find out what else we can do to help.