Kent County DUI Attorney
In Kent County, like all counties across the state of Maryland, DUI and DWI charges are taken very seriously. There are significant consequences, including possible jail time, fines, loss of driving privileges, and the myriad of other negative effects that accompany a criminal record. For this reason, it is very important that you contact a Kent County, MD DUI lawyer who can help protect your rights and fight on your behalf. To discuss your case call and schedule a consultation with a Maryland DUI lawyer with our firm today.
What Happens If You Are Arrested For DUI In Kent County?
Below is a brief overview of the DUI arrest process in Kent County. However, if you’re interested in more specific information, please feel free to get in touch with a Kent County, MD DUI lawyer from our firm.
If you are stopped on suspicion of a DUI (driving under the influence) in Kent County, Maryland, you will probably be charged with a misdemeanor offense. That results from a police officer’s observations of erratic or reckless driving, slurred speech or unstable actions, and/or the results of a breathalyzer test.
If you are stopped on suspicion of DUI, you may be asked to take a field sobriety test, which involves a combination of physical activities designed to provide evidence of possible intoxication. You may also be asked to take a roadside breathalyzer test. Participation in both these kinds of tests is voluntary, and carries no penalty for refusal.
If, however, you are arrested and taken to the police station, you will have to take a chemical test to measure the level of alcohol or other inebriating substances in your bloodstream. A DUI (driving under the influence) charge may result if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent (.08 g alcohol per 100 ml blood) or higher. If you are under the age of 18, you may be charged if any amount of alcohol shows up in your breath, blood, or urine. If you are under 21, you may be charged for driving with a BAC of 0.02 or higher. Maryland, as many states, has an implied consent law, which means that you can’t say no to taking the chemical test. If you do, your license will be automatically suspended.
As in most states, Maryland also specifies certain circumstances where a DUI offense can be upgraded to a felony. That might happen if you are charged with a DUI and your drunk driving caused injury to someone else
Whether it is a misdemeanor or felony, a DUI is a serious charge in Maryland. For a first offense, you may be fined up to $1,000.00, not counting court costs, and spend up to a year in jail. For a second DUI, the maximum possible fine is $2,000.00, and you may spend up to two years in jail.
A DUI experience is not only costly, it can be frightening and often life-changing. Most drivers who face such a charge have little experience with the court system. That is one reason why, if you have been charged with a DUI offense, your first call should be to an experienced Kent County, MD DUI lawyer. An experienced DUI attorney is familiar with Kent County laws concerning drunk driving and with the operation of the local court system. An experienced attorney knows the questions to ask during DUI court proceedings. In the event of a trial, your attorney can check the accuracy of the sobriety and breathalyzer tests, may be able to reduce some of the charges and might also be able to save your license. In some cases, your attorney may be able to dismiss the DUI charges and clear your record. Additionally if facing driving while impaired, it is important you consult with a Kent County DWI lawyer as soon as possible.
The Importance of Legal Representation
Your Kent County, MD DUI lawyer can take you through the two separate legal settings that are part of a DUI charge, one held in the criminal court and the other an administrative MVA hearing. Both take place in Chestertown, Maryland. For more information on local courthouses, please visit our Kent County Courthouses page.
Our Kent County, MD DUI attorneys can represent you throughout all trials and hearings and will fight to help you to reach the best possible settlement. The best possible advice is not to drink and drive. However, if you find yourself facing DUI charges in Kent County, you will want to work with a legal professional who gives you the best chance of a favorable outcome.
Don’t face a DUI alone. Call our law offices now for a free evaluation of your case, and let him put his successful team of DUI defenders to work to protect your future.