Garrett County MVA Lawyer
Speak with a Garrett County MVA hearing lawyer immediately if you need help appealing a DUI license suspension or dealing with any other MVA-related hearing or legal matter. Our MVA hearing attorneys are standing by to assist clients like you.
If you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI), reckless driving, driving without a license, or any other crime involving a motor vehicle, not only will you face criminal charges, you will also risk penalties from the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The MVA holds its own separate hearings outside the criminal court system and the hearing process can be quite daunting for individuals who are inexperienced with the legal system. A skilled Garrett County MVA hearing lawyer can help you through the process from beginning to end. They will be able to guide you through the labyrinth of laws, regulations, and requirements to help you avoid jail time and retain your license while your case works its way through the Maryland court system. Consult with a Garrett County DUI lawyer today to discuss your case.
Driver’s License Consequences
In Maryland, you can have your license either suspended or revoked for a number of reasons, including:
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Violating a driver restriction
- Failure to pay a citation
- Accumulation of too many points on your driving record
- Refusing to take a breath test
You may have to wait for as long as two years in order to get your driving privileges back. After the waiting period is over, you must complete a Driver Improvement Program, satisfy the requirements of the citation, if applicable, and pay all fines and fees.
The MVA also assesses points against your license for various traffic offenses. Even the seemingly minor traffic infractions can lead to points being assessed to your record. Certain offenses carry more points than others. If you have accumulated too many points on your license, the MVA will send you a warning letter for three or four points, require that you complete a Driver Improvement program for between five and seven points, suspend your license for between eight and 11 points, and revoke your license after 12 or more points.
DUI and The MVA
Drunk driving offenses carry extremely high points values. In Maryland, the difference between DUI and DWI comes down to the driver’s BAC (blood alcohol content). For DUI it is .08 percent or higher and DWI it is between .04 and .08 percent. A first offense for DWI does not involve mandatory prison time but offenders could get up to two months in jail and up to six months if they were transporting a minor. A first offense for DUI also does not involve mandatory jail time but the driver could face up to one year in jail and up to two years if transporting a minor. Fines can reach up to $500 for a first DWI offense and up to $1,000 if transporting a minor. For a first DUI offense, the fines are up to $1,000 and up to $2,000 if transporting a minor. There may be additional surcharges, fees, and other administrative expenses for a first DUI/DWI. Aside from these harsh criminal penalties for DUI and DWI convictions, drivers also face possible license suspension by the MVA. As an adult over 21 years old, if your BAC was less than .15, you could have your driver’s license suspended for 45 days. If it is over .15, you could face a 90 day suspension, for a first offense.
In certain DUI/DWI cases, you may be able to obtain a restricted license in order to attend alcohol education classes and go to and from work or school. The MVA may also require you to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle. The IID is a device that you blow into before starting your car so that it can measure your BAC. If your BAC is too high, the car will not start. That adds an additional financial burden since you are responsible for paying to have the device installed as well as for its lease. For a second or subsequent offense, an IID becomes mandatory.
When you receive a license to operate a motor vehicle in Maryland, through implied consent laws you have automatically consented to taking a breath, urine, or blood test should you get pulled over for suspected drunk driving. If you refuse to take the test, you could face a 120-day license suspension for the first offense or a one-year suspension for second and subsequent offenses. If you want to dispute your license suspension or revocation, you can request an MVA hearing. A qualified Garrett County MVA hearing lawyer will be able to help you through the process of requesting a hearing and advise you on the best course of action every step of the way.
Hire a Garrett County MVA Hearing Attorney
A DUI conviction is a complicated matter that be extremely overwhelming, especially for the first time. The Garrett County MVA hearing lawyers at our firm can help you understand the law, fight to protect your rights, and develop strong defense strategies to help you avoid a conviction. Contact his law office today to schedule a free case evaluation.