Maryland DUI Checkpoint Nets Two Arrests
Written by Staff Writer
A DUI checkpoint on Route 33 in Maryland resulted in two arrests this weekend, according to media reports.
The checkpoint included officers from the state police and the Talbot County Sheriff’s Office and took place between 9 and 11 p.m. Friday. A total of 148 vehicles were stopped at the checkpoint, resulting in the two arrests.
DUI checkpoints like these can become increasingly common during the summer months, especially on or before the dates of certain holidays and festivals. Though many assume checkpoints are effective, a skilled criminal defense attorney will know that policies and procedures governing checkpoints can be easily violated and that arrests that result from such events can be legally challenged. Nonetheless, publication of checkpoint results, like the one held last weekend, do serve as a valuable reminder to us all that DUI/DWI charges are not to be taken lightly in Maryland.
It’s also important to know what constitutes a DUI and DWI charge in the state of Maryland. This includes understanding Maryland’s Implied Consent Law, which states that if you are behind the wheel of a vehicle you have, in essence, consented to a breath or blood test if stopped by an officer on suspicion of driving under the influence.
Driving Under the Influence
If you have been pulled over for driving under the influence in Maryland, it is important that you understand the charge. Most people know that you can be charged with DUI if you are found driving with a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.08 percent or more.
There are various consequences for a first-time DUI charge that include:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to a $1,000 fine
- A minimum six-month license suspension
- Also, refusal to take a BAC test will result in a 120 day license suspension
Driving While Impaired
In addition to DUI, you may also be charged with Driving While Impaired or DWI in Maryland. DWI charges can occur if you are found driving a vehicle with a BAC of 0.07 or higher. If a driver’s BAC is higher than 0.05 but less than 0.07, there will be no presumption based on your BAC, but that result can be used along with other “competent evidence” to conclude that you were impaired and therefore unfit to be driving.
There are various consequences for a first-time misdemeanor DWI charge:
- Up to two months jail time
- Up to a $500 fine
- Minimum six month license suspension
The consequences for being caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Maryland are severe. If you have been charged with a DUI/DWI you may feel trapped and confused about your legal rights. It is important, however, to remember that there are defenses for these charges, and a skilled DUI/DWI attorney can help you minimize the impact such charges may have on your life.
A DUI/DWI attorney can help minimize the impact of these charges on your personal and professional life. His impressive track record of successful DUI/DWI defense exhibits his wealth of experience and his highly developed ability to protect the rights of his clients. If you have been charged with a DUI/DWI in the state of Maryland, do not hesitate to call to schedule a free consultation.