Bethesda Driving While Impaired Lawyer
On a daily basis, Bethesda police issue tickets for driving while intoxicated (DWI). Driving while intoxicated is any kind of operating of a motor vehicle when a person’s ability to operate that vehicle is impaired by alcohol. There are also DWI cases that include impairment by prescription medication or combination of prescription medication and alcohol. Although driving while impaired charges are technically a lesser offense than driving under the influence charges, a person charged with DWI will still benefit from procuring the services of an experienced Bethesda DUI lawyer.
Penalties for a DWI in Bethesda
In Bethesda, the penalties for driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated are the same regardless of where in Maryland the individual was charged. The maximum penalty for a DUI is 60 days of incarceration, a $500 fine and 8 points on a person’s driver’s license. The specific consequences for a driving while impaired in Maryland will depend on the specific circumstances of the case. If a person has a prior conviction or a minor in the car with them then the person will face harsher penalties. Although DWI penalties in Maryland can be severe, an experienced Bethesda driving while impaired attorney can help or eliminate the consequences a person faces.
Driving While Impaired Defense
DWI is generally a lesser offense included in a DUI, which means that when a Bethesda police officer writes a citation for DUI, they’re also going to write a citation for DWI. The two separate DUI and DWI charges will be tried together. Thus, a person’s Bethesda driving while impaired attorney would have to attack the evidence for both charges.
The evidence that is essential for a DWI lawyer in Bethesda to compile will vary from case to case. However, in every case, it will be essential to speak with all of the witnesses that are available to help with the case. A person’s driving while impaired attorney will want to be able to attack the state’s case. It will also be important to compile evidence towards mitigation, which will establish that a client is a good person and the treatment they have done to address the charge, which may include going to an alcohol clinic. This may help convince a judge to show leniency.
Why Contact a Bethesda Driving While Impaired Lawyer
If a person is facing DWI charges, it is absolutely essential that the person hire an attorney. Nine out of ten times, an individual charged with a DWI will also be charged with a DUI. Even if a person is only charged with a DWI, the maximum penalties will include a significant number of points on a person’s driver’s license, as well as a significant chance of active incarceration. Although the maximum amount of a first time DWI charge is 60 days, this still can impact a person’s employment. Anytime a person could potentially face incarceration, they will need to talk with confident legal counsel.
When a person is facing DWI charges in Bethesda, it is essential that the person contact an experienced Bethesda DWI attorney immediately. An attorney will listen to your side of the story and begin preparing a defense that is tailored toward your case and future. A person’s future should not be dictated by a DWI charge.